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The Delaware Department of Insurance has compiled this guide 
to help college students understand the types of insurance that 
may be beneficial to carry, may be beneficial to change, and how to 
make what you do have work for you.  Insurance is a field that can 
be confusing for even the most experienced person. Our goal is to 
provide you with concise insurance information and ways to access 
more information if you want it.

This guide covers renters insurance in addition to health and 
automobile insurance. In the health insurance market changes have 
come about because of the Affordable Care Act (ACA, also known as 
Obamacare) which became law in 2010. The ACA has experienced 
modifications on the state and national levels and we will continue to 
update this guide as often as possible to reflect the latest regulations 
and guidelines. Whenever you have questions you can always call 
our office or contact your insurance provider directly.

The Department of Insurance is here to serve you and if you have 
any questions about insurance-related issues not covered in this 
guide we will do our best to assist you. 

insurance.delaware.gov
1-800-282-8611

A Message From
The Delaware Department   

of Insurance 
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Please note: The Department of Insurance makes every attempt to provide up-to-
date information. If you need further clarification with any insurance questions we 
suggest you call our office or visit our website. This guide is not a substitute for legal 
or professional advice. May change without notice. 



Renters Insurance 
The Basics 
When you rent an apartment or home your landlord is responsible for 
insuring the structure against damages caused by a fire or such.  Many 
renters believe purchasing this type of insurance is unnecessary and that 
the landlords insurance will cover the replacement costs of their personal 
property.  That is incorrect, the landlords insurance does not cover your 
personal property against damages.  Another reason is that they think 
they don’t have enough things that would need to be insured.  They also 
underestimate the worth of their belongings.  To protect your financial 
interests you may want to consider purchasing renters insurance.  

Three main types of renters’ insurance coverage  
Personal Property Coverage
Renters’ insurance policies offer coverage for theft, loss or destruction of 
your personal belongings caused by fire, storm, or other causes that will be 
listed in your policy.  This coverage will help you replace your day-to-day 
items such as; clothing, jewelry, computers, appliances, etc.
When looking at this coverage you will need to decide if you want the 
provision that covers actual cash value or replacement costs.  For example: you 
bought a television two years ago for $1000.00 and it is stolen.  If you resold 
it today the actual cash value would be $200.00.  However, the replacement 
cost covers the current cost of the same model and size television, it does not 
depreciate the value based on age.  
The difference in premium costs do not vary much.  But if you have fairly 
new items it may be better to spend a little more for the replacement cost 
provision. 
  
Liability Coverage
This coverage comes as part of your standard renters insurance.  This covers 
you if you are sued by a guest to your house or apartment.  It will also cover you if 
you or a family member cause damage to a neighbor’s property.  If a guest slips 
on your stairs due to a loose rug this insurance may cover the medical bills.  Or 
maybe your tub overflows and soaks the downstairs’ carpets, you’re covered.   
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Renters Insurance
Additional Living Expense Coverage
While your landlord’s policy may cover damage to the structure you will still 
need a place to stay.  This coverage will help pay for your temporary living 
expenses, such as hotel or motel and restaurant bills.  These are charges 
you would not normally incur if you still lived in your apartment or house.  
There will be limitations on the amounts paid per day so you will need to 
check your policy or by contacting your insurance company.

Do I need Renters Insurance?

If you live in a college owned housing you may have coverage for personal 
belongs through the college and your parent’s homeowners’ insurance 
policy.  There are three questions to ask yourself when deciding if you should 
purchase this insurance:

• How much is my stuff worth?

• Could I afford to replace everything?

• What would happen if someone was injured on my property and sued 
me?

It is best to review your parents’ homeowners’ insurance policy with their 
agent or directly with the company to see what specifically will be covered 
while living away at college.
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Health Insurance
The Basics

With the passing of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) or more commonly 
known as Obamacare, there has been many changes to the health care 
market.  One of those changes is the ability to stay on your parent’s health 
insurance plan up to age 26 years.  If your parents do not have family 
coverage or health coverage at all you may need to review your own 
options.  With the rising costs of medical care these days an unexpected 
illness or injury could put you in deep debt and possibly ruin your credit 
history.  

Dependent Coverage on Family Plan

If your parent has a group employer policy that offers dependent coverage 
they may be required to extend your coverage up to age 26.  If this is the 
type of coverage you re enrolled in do not assume your medical care will 
be covered while attending college out of state.  If your coverage is limited 
to a specific service area or state, such as an HMO, you will not receive 
reimbursement for routine services or non-emergency care.  However, 
some insurance companies offer away from home programs.  You will need 
to contact the insurance company directly to inquiry about any possible 
programs and to see how this plan will work for you.  

Individual or Self Coverage Plan

If your parent does not have health insurance that will cover you as a 
dependent you may need to consider purchasing your own insurance 
policy.  Because of the ACA everyone is required to have health insurance 
to cover the 10 essential health benefits to avoid tax penalties.  However, 
if you are enrolled in a school sponsored plan you can avoid tax penalties 
as these are considered grandfathered plans and not subject to the ACA 
requirements.  Please note that many colleges require proof of insurance 
at time of enrollment or you may be required to enroll in their school 
sponsored student health insurance plan (SHIP). 
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Health Insurance
Coverage Options:  Advantages and Disadvantages 

	 Family Plan				       Individual or SHIP

Parents pay the premiums  			        You pay the premiums
and may be less costly    ……………………..     and could be more costly

Parent does the enrollment   ………....………….   You do the enrollment

Can stay with family doctors     ………….     May have to find new doctors

Provides full service coverage ….  SHIP may have limited service coverage

May have limited coverage			   Medical services available
   when out of state   …………………………….     on campus or near by

Parents get the EOB showing			   Confidential care as you
    services receiving ………………………….. receive the EOB

     May lose coverage if            			      Keep coverage as long as
 parent loses their job    ………………………..    you pay the premiums

        Does not require				                  SHIP may require full
 full-time student status      …………………………    -time student status 

While many college students are often referred to as the “Young Invincible” 
they are still vulnerable to illness and accidents.   It is important to know 
your options when making these decisions.  Above are a few differences 
in the types of policies available.  Compare the different policies to make 
sure you are getting the fullest benefits available.  While most plans offer 
coverage for emergency care everywhere other plans may be limited to 
specific service areas for the follow up care and non-emergency care.  

*Emergency medical conditions involve immediate onset of symptoms, 
including pain, severe enough to lead a person with an average knowledge 
of health and medicine to believe immediate medical attention is needed to 
avoid a serious impairment of bodily functions or serious dysfunction of a 
bodily organ or part.
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Automobile Insurance
The Basics

In Delaware, as all other states, drivers are required to carry automobile 
insurance.  If you are planning on going to a college out-of-state and 
taking your car with you, you must make sure you meet all the minimum 
requirements of the state you will be living in.  The minimum requirements 
in Delaware are:

Bodily Injury Protection - $15,000/$30,000

If you are responsible for the injury or death of another person and have 
minimum coverage, your insurance company will pay:

• Up to $15,000 to one person involved in a single accident
• Up to $30,000 to all people involved in a single accident, with no more 
than $15,000 to any one person

Property Damage - $10,000
If you are responsible for damages to another person’s property and have 
minimum coverage, your insurance company will pay:

• Up to $10,000 to a person involved in a single accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) - $15,000/$30,000
Whether you are responsible for the accident or not, your insurance 
company will pay for the medical expenses and loss of wages for you and 
your passengers. If you have minimum coverage, your company will pay:

• Up to $15,000 to any one person involved in a single accident
• Up to $30,000 to all people involved in a single accident, with no more 
than $15,000 to any one person

*Also included in PIP coverage is up to $5,000 for funeral expenses

Don’t Drive Uninsured: Driving without insurance is against the law and 
leads to higher insurance premiums for the drivers who play by the rules. 
Registered vehicles are randomly checked for coverage and insurance 
companies will notify the state if coverage is dropped. Driving without 
insurance can cost you a fine, your license plate or your driver’s license.
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Automobile Insurance
How To Decide?

Leaving the car at home: Even if leaving your car at home you need 
to decide if you should keep your parent’s coverage or drop it. Many 
companies allow young adults to remain on their parents’ policies as 
long as the car title lists at least one parent, the young adult still lives at 
home or is a full-time student.  Generally, it is recommended to keep 
your coverage active on your parents’ policy for many reasons:

• Covered when home visiting
• Covered when driving a friend’s car with limited coverage
• Lower premiums (the cost of the policy)

There are ways to save on the premiums while in school.  Listed below are 
some of the options available that may vary by companies.  Your parents 
should discuss ways to save insurance costs with their agent.  

• Occasional Driver Discount
• Good Student Discount
• Distant Driver Discount

Taking the car with you: If your college allows you to bring your car 
with you, you will need to review your options for insurance coverage 
to make sure you have satisfied the new state’s minimum coverage rules.  
In addition, your current coverage may need to be increased.  While 
it is not often required, some companies may require you to enroll in 
a separate policy which may have a higher cost when the car will be 
located in another state.  However, the above discounts may still apply. 

When making your decision we suggest you discuss your options with 
a licensed agent.  It may be helpful to get at least three different car 
insurance quotes to see which will offer the best rates for the coverage 
you will need.  If you remain with your current carrier and policy, you 
will need to notify your insurance company where your car will now be 
located.  
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Notes
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Contact Us
The Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s Office is here to help if you have 
questions about or problems with your insurance coverage or insurance 
company.

Questions about insurance or complaints about an insurance company or 
insurance agent can be made to the Commissioner’s Consumer Services 
division by phone, by fax, by letter, by email or with an online complaint 
form. 
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Phone: 1-800-282-8611 
(Toll-free in Delaware)

or (302) 674-7310

Fax: (302) 739-6278 

Email: consumer@state.de.us

841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904

insurance.delaware.gov



Delaware Department of Insurance
insurance.delaware.gov

1-800-282-8611

Insurance Commissioner’s Office
of the State of Delaware 

Our Mission

• Protect insurance consumers

• Regulate companies to ensure ability to pay 	    
claims

• Review, approve, and/or disapprove rates 
   submitted by insurance companies

• Prosecute insurance fraud

• License agents and brokers

Dealing with insurance and insurance companies can be complicated 
and confusing. The Consumer Services staff at the Department of 
Insurance is trained and experienced in dealing with insurance 
problems. Whether it’s a simple question or a tough situation where 
someone is being denied a service, we will do everything we can to help 
you understand your options.


