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The following is a list of documents and/or information required to file an application 
to obtain status as an approved Accredited Reinsurer Maintaining Trust Fund. 

1. Written request for approval as an Accredited Reinsurer.

2. Certified copy of the Annual Statement as of December 31, last preceding year, 
in conventional form demonstrating that the company has $20 million in 
combined Capital and Surplus.  An insurer may be authorized to serve as an 
Accredited Reinsurer with less than $20 million in policyholders’ surplus with 
the Commissioner’s approval.

3. Certified copy of the Certificate of Authority, or Certificate of Compliance 
showing company is licensed in at least one (1) state (if Alien assuming insurer, 
than U.S. Branch entered through).

4. Certificate of Deposit (market value of at least $100,000), showing securities on 
deposit held for the protection of all policyholders and creditors.

5. If Life Company, Certificate of Valuation verifying the aggregate reserve at the 
close of the last calendar year.

6. If Property/Casualty Company, a statement of a qualified actuary setting forth 
an opinion relating to loss and loss adjustment opinion at the close of the last 
calendar year.

7. Latest Report of Examination, within three (3) years.  If older than three (3) 
years, an explanation must be provided regarding the age of the Report.

8. Designation of individual for receipt of bulletins, regulations and notice of 
regulatory proceedings (Form D-2)

9. Articles/Certificate of Incorporation, certified by the domiciliary jurisdiction.

10.  By-Laws, certified to by the Secretary of the company.

11.  Completed and executed Form AR-1 (Certificate of Assuming Insurer).

12.  Copy of state of domicile reinsurance statutes in order to demonstrate its 
similarity to Delaware law.

13.  FEE $150.00 initial registration fee.
a. Check made payable to the Delaware Department of Insurance. 

http://www.insurance.delaware.gov/
https://insurance.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/15/2020/03/FormAR1_03.30.20.pdf
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Note: It is the responsibility of the domestic company to see that its reinsurer is either 
licensed as an accredited reinsurer or otherwise persuades its reinsurer to put up a 
Letter of Credit or other security to guarantee the credits taken from cessions made to 
an unauthorized reinsurer.   

If you have any questions, please contact (302) 674-7330 or BERG@delaware.gov. 

http://www.insurance.delaware.gov/
mailto:BERG@delaware.gov



