Due to the current state of emergency, we are unable to meet in person with the public. However, we will be able to provide you with the service you need by phone or by email.

Medicare Open Enrollment October 15th to December 7th!
Call DMAB at 302-674-7364 to review your Medicare Advantage and/or Medicare Prescription plan for 2022.

Flood Insurance - See More Info

Major Disaster Declaration Approved for Delaware
Hurricane Ida: Constituents may call 1-800-621-3362 or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Hours: 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. ET, 7 days a week
Website Info: DisasterAssistance.gov and FEMA.gov/disaster/hurricane-ida
COVID-19 Insurance FAQ - See More Info 

Closings and Delays - State Government - See More Info

Delaware.gov logo
Delaware Department of
Insurance

Company Regulation (BERG)


Please refer to the Departments Annual Filing Checklists for specific filing instructions
Electronic signatures/notarizations are currently being accepted due to the current COVID-19 health crisis

Insurers are encouraged to file required forms electronically to berg@delaware.gov. Filing fees must be in the form of a check and be accompanied by a cover letter.
The Department will accept electronic signatures that comply with the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, Title 6 Ch. 12A. Pursuant to HB 216 remote notarization will be accepted if authorized in the state in which the document is being notarized.

ALL PAYMENTS MUST BE MADE PAYABLE TO THE DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE.
The Bureau of Company Examination, Rehabilitation and Guaranty, or BERG, is responsible for assuring the financial health and stability of insurance companies in Delaware. It does so by analyzing and assessing the financial condition of insurance companies domesticated and doing business in Delaware in order to protect consumers and, if necessary, by managing, rehabilitating or liquidating financially impaired insurers.


General Information

Affidavit of Exemption


Application for Name Change


Certificate Request Request form for certificates. Applicable fees are required at time of request


Form 11 Biographical Affidavit – UCAA


Form 12 Uniform Consent to Service of Process


Form D1 Designation of Person for Receipt of Service of Process


Form D2 Designation of Person to Receive Regulations, Bulletins, etc.


Form PF-1 Insurance Premium Finance Company Application


Fraud Prevention Bureau Fee Information


H-1 Form Application For Managed Care Organization Certificate Of Authority


H-2 Form Questionnaire For Certificate Of Authority Of Managed Care Organization


H-4 Form Designation of Individual for Receipt of Bulletins, Etc.


NAIC Company Code Application Required following approval of UCAA Primary application and issuance of Certificate of Authority


Surety Waiver


Use of Trade name or DBA


Voluntary Dissolution of a Delaware Domestic Company Procedure for dissolving a Delaware domestic company


Voluntary Surrender of License – TPA

Company Information

  • DOMESTIC:
    • NAIC Biographical Affidavits are required for all changes in Officers, Directors or Key Managerial Personnel and individuals with a 10% or more beneficial ownership in the company. Email with cover letter to berg@delaware.gov within 60 days of the change

  • FOREIGN:
    • NAIC biographical affidavits are NOT required for new officers or directors. However, a letter of notification is required for changes to Officers (not directors) emailed to berg@delaware.gov within 60 days of change. Notification letter must include the Company Name(s), NAIC#(s), Business Address, Phone Number, and Email Address

    Please refer to the state specific chart on the NAIC website: Fingerprint and Biographical Affidavit Requirements – Industry UCAA (naic.org)

    Reminder: Non-Public information (NPI) should be sent securely using the State preferred method of Egress Secure

Security Exchange Request– Request changes to Securities held in Escrow

UCAA – Uniform Certificate of Authority Application information

Company Types

18 Del. Admin C. § 1403 (Formerly Regulation 58)


18 Del. C. §§ 6401-6420


Requirements for Obtaining Authority as a Managed Care Organization

18 Del. C. § 33A


PBM Final Order Effective 8/11/2020


Pharmacy Benefits Manager Checklist/Registration application

  • A pharmacy benefits manager shall register with the Commissioner as a pharmacy benefits manager before providing pharmacy benefits management services in this State. §3353A
18 Del. Admin C. § 2001 (Formerly Regulation 21)


18 Del. C. §§ 4801-4812


Requirements for Obtaining a License as a Premium Finance Company

Annual Renewal – January 1 (Please do not submit more than 60 days in advance)

Reinsurance

Internationally Active Insurance Groups (IAIG)

Miscellaneous Links


Related Topics:  , , , , , , , , , ,


+