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State of Delaware 
Department of Insurance 

 
RETALIATORY STATEMENT 

 
A foreign stock or mutual insurer seeking a Delaware Certificate of Authority authorizing it to transact the 
business of Life, including annuities and Health would be required to comply with the following requirements: 
 
1.  CAPITAL FUND REQUIREMENTS - 18 DEL. C. SECTION 511(a):  
 
                                  Capital          Free 
                                   Stock          Surplus    
             Life         $300,000        $150,000 
             Health              $300,000       $150,000 
             Life & Health      $350,000        $200,000        
 
2.  GENERAL DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS - Pursuant to 18 Del. C. Section 513(a), the Commissioner shall 
not authorize a foreign insurer (other than an alien insurer) to transact insurance in this State unless it makes 
and thereafter continuously maintains on deposit in this State through the Commissioner, or in another state, 
cash or securities eligible for such deposit under the laws of this State or of such other state of a fair market 
value of not less than $100,000 for the protection of all its policyholders wherever located or all of its 
policyholders in the United States or of all its policyholders and  creditors.  The Commissioner shall accept a 
Certificate of Deposit from the official having supervision over the insurer in its state of domicile to the effect 
that such deposit or part thereof by such insurer is being maintained in public custody or control pursuant to 
law in such state. 
 
3.  EXPERIENCE OR “SEASONING” REQUIREMENTS - In accordance with Delaware Domestic/Foreign 
Insurers Bulletin No. 3, a like insurer to be eligible for consideration for admission must have been in 
continuous operation for three years.  This requirement does not apply to subsidiary or affiliate companies with 
substantially the same management of an admitted company or continuing corporation resulting from merger or 
consolidation.                   
                                     
4.  TAXES AND FEES - The following taxes and fees would be imposed upon like foreign insurers: 
     

 a)  Premium Taxes: 
 

1-3/4% plus 1/4% of gross premiums written, after deducting 1) the amount of returned premiums on 
cancelled policies (but not including the return of cash surrender values of life insurance policies), 
and 2) the unabsorbed portion of any deposit premium and the amount returned to policyholders as 
dividends and similar returns, whether paid in cash or credited or applied in reduction of premiums.  

     
Tax on Employer Owned Life Policies and Trust Owned Life Policies – The premium tax shall be 
calculated on the basis of net premiums (upon which taxes are payable to the State of Delaware) 
received per case in each calendar year, except that in subsequent calendar years the premium tax rate 
shall not be higher than the rate established for the preceding year.     
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     Net Premiums per Case             Premium Tax Rate 
     First $10,000,000 2.0% 

$10,000,001 to $24,999,999           1.5% 
     $25,000,000 to $99,999,999                        1.25% 
     $100,000,000 and over         l.0%

b) Admission Fees:
Application for Admission $1000.00 
Issuance of Certificate of Authority $150.00 

c) Renewal Fees:
Continuation of Certificate of Authority $150.00 
Filing Annual Statement                     $150.00 

d) Appointment of Producers:
Appointment of producers, each producer $50.00 
(One-time appointment fee, no renewal)

e) Filing Fees:
Amended Articles of Incorporation $10.00 
Amended By-Laws $10.00 
Articles of Merger
Articles of Redomestication
Adding or deleting lines of Business
Form A

-0-
$160.00
$150.00
$1000.00 

f) Filing Rates and Forms
Each form, endorsement, application, rate and/or deviation $150.00 

i) Filing Holding Company Registration Statement:
     Initial registration statement $100.00 
     Each amendment thereof $100.00  

Every insurer which is authorized to do business in the State of Delaware and which is a member of 
an insurance holding company system shall register with the Commissioner, except a foreign insurer 
subject to registration requirements and standards adopted by statute or regulation in the jurisdiction 
of its domicile which are substantially similar to Delaware.  The Commissioner may require any 
insurer authorized to do business in the State which is a member of a holding company system, and 
which is not subject to registration, to furnish a copy of the registration statement, the summary or 
other information filed by such insurance company with the insurance regulatory authority of 
domiciliary jurisdiction. 

5. REGULATIONS - A like insurer seeking authority to conduct variable annuities and variable life would be
required to comply with the provisions of Delaware Insurance Regulation Nos. 1 and 44, respectively.

All statutory references are to Title 18, Delaware Insurance Code. 


	Each form, endorsement, application, rate and/or deviation  $100.00

