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A foreign stock or mutual insurer seeking a Delaware Certificate of Authority authorizing it to transact 

Prope11y/Casualty lines business would be required to comply with the following requirements: 

I. CAPITAL FUND REQUIREME TS - 18 Del. C. Section 511 (a):

Property 
Casualty 

Capital Free 
Stock Surplus 
$300,000 $150,000 

$400,000 $200,000 

2. GENERAL DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS - Pursuant to 18 Del. C. Section 5 l 3(a), the Commissioner shall
not authorize a foreign insurer (other than an alien insurer) to transact insurance in this State unless it makes

and thereafter continuously maintains on deposit in this State through the Commissioner, or in another state,
cash or securities eligible for such deposit under the laws of this State or of such other state of a fair market

value of not less than $100,000 for the protection of all its policyholders wherever located or all of its
policyholders in the United States or of all its policyholders and creditors. The Commissioner shall accept a

Certificate of Deposit from the official having supervision over the insurer in its state of domicile to the effect
that such deposit or part thereof by such insurer is being maintained in public custody or control pursuant to law
in such state.

18 Del. C. Section 5 l 3(b ), the Commissioner shal I not authorize an insurer to transact surety insurance unless 
it makes and thereafter continuously maintains in this State through the Commissioner a special and additional 

deposit of cash or securities eligible therefor under § 1503 of th is title, of a fair market value not less than 
$10,000, to answer any default of such insurer upon surety contracts issued by it in this State. The foregoing 
requirement shall not be applicable to any insurer having a paid-in capital and surplus of $10,000,000 or more 

and continuously maintaining on deposit in this State through the Commissioner, or in another state, cash or 
securities eligible for such deposit under the laws of this State or of such other state of a fair market value of 

not less than $400,000 for the protection of all its policyholders wherever located, or all of its policyholders in 
the United States or all of its policyholders and creditors. 

18 Del. C. Section 513 (c), no insurer shall transact workers' compensation insurance in this State unless it 
makes and thereafter maintains in this State through the Commissioner a special and additional deposit of cash 
or securities eligible therefor under§ 1503 of this title, of a fair market value ofnot less than $100,000 for the 

protection of persons in this State covered under the insurance so transacted. Upon any insurer's inability to 
pay workers' compensation claims as a result of a court of competent jurisdiction finding of financial 
impairment or insolvency, which prevents the regular payment of workers' compensation benefits, this deposit 
shall be immediately available upon their request to the Delaware Insurance Guaranty Association for 

continuation of claims benefits to eligible workers. 

3. EXPERIE CE OR "SEASO ING" REQUIREMENTS - In accordance with Delaware Domestic/Foreign
Insurers Bulletin No. 3, a like insurer to be eligible for consideration for admission must have been in continuous
operation for three years. This requirement does not apply to subsidiary or affiliate companies with substantially
the same management of an admitted company or continuing corporation resulting from merger or

consolidation.



4. TAXES AND FEES -The following taxes and fees would be imposed upon like foreign insurers:

a) Premium Taxes:
1-3/4% plus 1/4% of gross premiums written, after deducting I )  the amount of returned premiums on
cancelled policies (but not including the return of cash surrender values of life insurance policies), and 2) 
the unabsorbed portion of any deposit premium and the amount returned to policyholders as dividends and
similar returns, whether paid in cash or credited or applied in reduction of premiums.

2% Worker's Compensation & Employer's Liability 
5% upon taxable underwriting profit- Wet Marine & Transportation 

Quarterly taxes are paid as follows based on estimated tax liability: 
50% on April 15th 

• 20% on June 15th
20% on September 15th

• I 0% on December 15th

b) Admission Fees:

Application for Admission
Jssuance of Certificate of Authority

c) Renewal Fees:
Continuation of Certificate of Authority

Filing Annual Statement
Annual Fraud Bureau Assessment

d) Appointment of Producers:

Appointment of producers, each producer
(One-time appointment fee, no renewal)

e) Filing Fees:

Amended Articles of Incorporation
Amended By-Laws

Articles of Merger
Articles of Redomestication
Adding or deleting lines of Business
Form A

f) Filing Rates and Forms

Each form, endorsement, application, rate and/or deviation

g) Filing Holding Company Registration Statement:

Initial registration statement
Each amendment thereof

$1,000.00 
$150.00 

$150.00 

$150.00 
$900.00 

$50.00 

$10.00 
$10.00 

-0-
$160.00

$150.00
$1000.00

$150.00 

$100.00 
$100.00 

Every insurer which is authorized to do business in the State of Delaware and which is a member of an 
insurance holding company system shall register with the Commissioner, except a foreign insurer subject to 

registration requirements and standards adopted by statute or regulation in the jurisdiction of its domicile 
which are substantially similar to Delaware. The Commissioner may require any insurer authorized to do 

business in the State which is a member of a holding company system, and which is not subject to registration, 

to furnish a copy of the registration statement, the summary or other information filed by such insurance 
company with the insurance regulatory authority of domiciliary jurisdiction. 

All statutory references are to Title 18, Delaware Insurance Code. 
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