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The purpose of the original and the latest version of this bulletin' is to remind carriers of
their statutory obligation to fully reimburse non-network emergency services as required by 18
Del. C. §§ 3349(c) and 3565(c) by paying the provider:

e Directly;

e At an amount that is the highest allowable charge for each emergency care service
allowed by the insurer for any other network or non-network provider during the
full 12-month period immediately prior to the date of emergency care service
performed by the non-network provider; and

e Within 30 days of receipt of each clean claim for each emergency care service.

The Department is very concerned with complaints from representatives of emergency
medical service providers who report that carriers are terminating contracts or reducing
reimbursement under contracts between carriers and these providers, resulting in several hundred
outstanding, unpaid claims. The above-cited sections require carriers to pay emergency service
providers within 30 days of a clean claim and require payment of the highest allowable charge
during the prior 12-month period. Failure to comply is a violation of those provisions and the
Unfair Claims Settlement Act. If the amount due for the emergency service under the policy is
disputed, either the carrier or the provider may file for arbitration of these claims as is provided
at 18 DE Admin. Code 1316, but either party’s decision to pursue arbitration does not negate the
carrier’s responsibility to pay the claim in the required amount within 30 days of presentment of
a clean claim.

Any questions, comments, or requests for clarification about this bulletin should be
emailed to Compliance(@delaware.gov.

NOTE: This Bulletin is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not intended to set forth legal rights, duties, or privileges,
nor is it intended to provide legal advice. Readers should consult applicable statutes and rules and contact the Delaware
Department of Insurance if additional information is needed.
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This Bulletin shall be effective immediately and shall remain in effect unless withdrawn
or superseded by subsequent law, regulation, or bulletin.
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Trinidad Navarro
Delaware Insurance Commissioner

i The purpose of the March 28, 2017 revision to this bulletin was to inform carriers that the
Department recodified 18 DE Admin. Code 1301-7.61 and 7.62 to 18 DE Admin. Code 1316-
3.6.1 and 3.6.2. See 19 DE Reg. 923 and 926 (April 1, 2016).



