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A Message From
The Delaware Department  

of Insurance 

insurance.delaware.gov
302-674-7300

The Delaware Department of Insurance has compiled this guide to 
educate consumers about the different types of health products 
available, including insurance and non-insurance products. 
Navigating health plans can be confusing for even the most 
experienced person. Our goal is to provide concise information 
about different types of health products, as well as opportunities to 
access additional resources if needed.

The Affordable Care Act, or ACA, became law in 2010. As a result, 
changes to health insurance have taken place at both the state 
and federal level. We will continue to update this guide as often as 
possible to reflect the latest regulations and guidelines.

The Department of Insurance is here to serve you. If you have 
questions about health products, or other insurance-related 
questions not explored in this guide, please contact us.
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Disclaimer: The Delaware Department of Insurance makes every 
attempt to provide accurate and up-to-date information. If you need 
further clarification with any health questions we suggest you call your 
insurance provider or our office. This guide is not a substitute for legal or 
professional advice. Information may change without notice.
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Insurance Words and Terms
Affordable Care Act (ACA): The most common formal name for the 
health care reform law passed by Congress in 2010. Commonly called 
Obamacare. 

Catastrophic Plan: Plans that have a high deductible. Benefits are paid 
only after the deductible has been paid by the consumer. In most cases in 
Delaware, these plans can only be purchased by individuals who are under 
30 years old. 

Co-insurance: The percentage that the insurance company and consumer 
pays for covered services after the plan deductible has been met. For 
example, when a plan has an 80%/20% co-insurance, the insurance carrier 
will pay 80% of the allowed amount and the consumer will pay 20% of 
covered expenses. The co-insurance percentage will vary by service and/or 
plan. 

Co-payment: A set dollar amount paid when receiving specific services. 
Co-pays generally do not apply to deductibles, co-insurance or the out-
ofpocket maximum. Not all services require a co-pay. 

Deductible: The amount a consumer must pay for health care services 
covered by the health insurance plan before the insurance company 
begins to pay. For example, if a deductible is $1,000 the plan will not pay 
anything until the consumer has met the $1,000 deductible for covered 
health care services. The deductible may not apply to all services. 

Out-of-Pocket Costs: Expenses for medical care that include deductibles, 
co-insurance, and co-payments for covered services. 

Out-of-Pocket Limit/Maximum: The maximum amount you may pay for 
medical services in a calendar year which may or may not include the 
deductible, depending on your plan. Once a person reaches the out-of-
pocket maximum the health plan will pay 100% of charges for all covered 
services for the remainder of the year. However, the insured may still be 
required to pay applicable co-pays. The maximum amount of money 
may vary depending on whether the services you receive are in or out-of-
network. 

Premium: The amount that must be paid for a health insurance plan. Usually 
paid monthly, quarterly or yearly.
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Understanding Types of Plans
Many medical plans typically cover a comprehensive array of health 
care needs, including doctors’ visits, drugs and hospital care. These 
benefits can be delivered in several different ways: 

Indemnity plan. These medical plans typically have a deductible – the 
amount you pay before the insurance company begins paying benefits. 
After your covered expenses exceed the deductible amount, benefits 
usually are paid as a percentage of actual expenses, often 80 percent. 
These plans usually provide the most flexibility in choosing where to 
receive care. 

Preferred Provider Organization, or PPO. In these medical plans, the 
insurance company enters into contracts with selected hospitals and 
doctors to furnish services at a discounted rate. As a member of a PPO, 
you may be able to seek care from a doctor or hospital that is not a 
preferred provider, but you will probably have to pay a higher deductible 
or co-insurance. 

Health Maintenance Organization, or HMO. These medical plans make 
you choose a primary care physician (PCP) from a list of network 
providers. Your PCP is responsible for managing all of your health care. 
If you need care from any network provider other than your PCP, you 
may have to get a referral from your PCP to see that provider. You must 
receive care from a network provider in order to have your claim paid 
through the HMO. Treatment received outside the network is usually not 
covered, or covered at a significantly reduced level. 

Point of Service, or POS. These medical plans are a hybrid of the PPO 
and HMO models. They are more flexible than HMOs, but do require you 
to select a primary care physician. Like a PPO, you can go to an outof-
network provider and pay more of the cost. However, if the PCP refers 
you to an out-of-network doctor, the health plan will pay the cost if the 
insurance plan has authorized the referral.
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Changes as a Result of ACA
The Affordable Care Act (ACA), also known as Obamacare or simply as 
“federal health reform”, was signed in to law in 2010, provisions included 
in the ACA are intended to expand access to health insurance, increase 
consumer protections and coverage, and emphasize prevention and 
wellness. 

Some of the law’s protections went in to force in 2010 but as of January 
1, 2014 all new insurance plans will be required to offer the following 
minimum benefits and protections. For an extensive list of protections see 
healthcare.gov. 

•	 For all adults and children, you can no longer be denied coverage by 
an insurance company for having a pre-existing condition. 

•	 Your insurance company can no longer place a lifetime dollar limit on 
your coverage. 

•	 Your insurance company can no longer place low annual dollar limits 
on your coverage. 

•	 You can no longer be dropped from coverage by your insurance 
company because you get sick. 

•	 Children can stay on their parent’s health plan until the age of 26, 
under certain conditions. Ask your employer or insurer for details. 

•	 There are no out-of-pocket costs for key preventive health services 
and all plans must cover ten essential health benefits (See description 
of benefits on page 5). Note: You may still be responsible for an office 
co-payment for the actual visit. 

•	 Your insurance company must now spend at least 80% of your 
premium covering medical services. 

•	 Insurers are prohibited from dropping or limiting coverage because an 
individual chooses to participate in a clinical trial. 

•	 Women can no longer be denied coverage due to pregnancy.



7

Essential Health Benefits
Essential Health Benefits: The Affordable Care Act sets certain standards 
that all insurers must meet, and mandates that all health plans offered to 
those who buy health insurance on their own or in small groups include a 
set of “essential health benefits,” which are listed below. 

•	 Emergency services 

•	 Hospitalizations 

•	 Laboratory services 

•	 Maternity care

•	 Mental health and substance abuse treatment 

•	 Outpatient, or ambulatory, care 

•	 Pediatric care 

•	 Prescription drugs 

•	 Preventive care 

•	 Rehabilitative and habilitative (helping maintain daily functioning) 
services 

•	 Vision and dental care for children (up to age 19) 

Grandfathered Health Plans: A grandfathered health plan isn’t required 
to meet all of the standards of new plans or comply with some of the 
consumer protections of the Affordable Care Act. If you are covered 
by a health plan that existed before March 23, 2010 your plan may be 
considered a “grandfathered” plan. This is true whether you are covered 
by an individual health insurance policy that you had on that date, or 
you are covered by a job-based health plan that your employer first 
established before March 23, 2010. This is true even if you enrolled in that 
job-based plan after March 23, 2010. 

How do I know if I have a grandfathered health plan? The easiest way 
to find out if you have a grandfathered plan is to call your insurance 
company or ask your HR department, if you have the insurance through 
your employer.
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Buyer Beware
As a general rule, if an offer seems too good to be true—it probably is. 

Discount Plans or Discount Cards: You may see or receive advertisements 
from plans offering discounts on health care for a monthly fee. These 
are not health insurance plans, and participants do not have the same 
protections as under licensed, major medical health insurance. 

Some of the discount cards use high-pressure marketing tactics and 
ask for a large, up-front fee. They are often advertised via spam emails, 
internet popup ads, on roadside signs or on telephone poles. The 
Delaware Department of Insurance strongly recommends that you 
thoroughly investigate any plan promising deep discounts for a “low” 
monthly fee and weigh the benefits against the costs carefully. 

Non-Licensed Risk-Sharing Plans: You may receive offers to join a group 
or association that will take your monthly payments, put them in a savings 
account, or trust, with other participants’ money, and then help pay some 
of your health care costs, as needed. 

Such arrangements are not insurance and the participants do not have 
the protections available to purchasers of licensed insurance plans. 
The Delaware Department of Insurance strongly recommends that you 
thoroughly investigate such plans before joining. 

Supplemental Plans: Limited benefit plans such as those covering only 
dental or vision and plans that offer discounts on medical services are 
available but do not provide full health coverage. 
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Other Coverage Options
Additional coverage options provide added protection should you 
become disabled, require long-term care or enroll in Medicare: 

•	 Disability Income provides for weekly or monthly benefit 
payments while you are disabled after a covered injury or 
sickness. 

•	 Long-Term Care Insurance usually pays for skilled, intermediate 
and custodial care in a nursing home as well as care in other 
settings, such as the home, adult day care center or assisted 
living facility. The policy usually pays a fixed amount per day 
while a person is receiving care. 

•	 Medicare Supplemental Coverage: The federal Medicare 
program pays most medical expenses for people 65 or older, 
or for individuals under 65 receiving Social Security disability 
benefits. However, Medicare does not pay all expenses. As a 
result, you may want to buy a Medicare Supplement policy 
(also known as Medigap) to help pay for certain expenses, 
including deductibles not covered by Medicare.
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Ways to Save
•	 Subsidies may be available, depending on your family size and 

income, for the health plans that are offered through healthcare.gov. 
Individual plans that are not offered through the Health Insurance 
Marketplace, healthcare.gov, do not qualify for federal subsidies. 

•	 Check to see if your employer offers a flexible spending account. 
These plans, which allow you to set aside pre-tax dollars for medical 
expenses and childcare, are a good way to reduce your out-of-
pocket medical costs. 

•	 Many plans offer a menu of options. Review your situation regularly, 
and adjust your options to meet changing needs. 

•	 Stay in your network as much as possible, making sure to obtain 
referrals as required. 

•	 Many plans require pre-certification for certain tests and procedures. 
Know your plan, and make sure you comply with these requirements 
to avoid paying penalties. 

•	 Hold on to all receipts for medical services. Even though your intent 
may be to always stay in-network, you never know when an accident, 
out-of-town emergency room visit or unexpected illness might 
cause you to incur out-of-pocket expenses that exceed even a high 
deductible. 

•	 Finally, consider combining a high-deductible plan with a Health 
Savings Account, or HSA. An HSA is earmarked for medical 
expenses. Deposits are tax-deductible for the self-employed and can 
be easily withdrawn by check or debit card to pay routine medical 
bills with tax-free dollars. Larger medical expenses are covered by the 
high-deductible health insurance policy. 
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Problems With Claims
Before you make a claim: Review your summary of benefits and coverage 
carefully to be sure the service in question is covered. Follow any 
managed care rules, including pre-certification requirements and use of 
network providers. 

To submit a claim properly: Find out if your provider submits the claim for 
you or if you need to do it. If you are required to file a claim, review the 
information to be sure it is complete and correct. Send the claim to the 
right address and make sure to keep a copy for your reference. Be aware 
of timely filing requirements. 

Time frame for claims: Delaware’s “Prompt Payment” regulation basically 
requires the insurance company to pay a claim, reject it or ask for 
more information within 30 days. It also requires that a health insurance 
company only ask for additional information once, rather than repeatedly 
making requests. The company must send you an explanation of benefits 
that explains its decision. The prompt payment regulation does not apply 
to other types of insurance such as dental, vision, or hearing. 

If your claim is paid: If you assigned benefits to the provider, the benefit 
check will be sent directly to the provider. If you did not assign the 
benefits, the check will come to you and you will need to pay your 
providers for the entire amount. 

If your claim is denied: The reason for denial should be stated on your 
explanation of benefits. If you disagree with the basis stated for denial, 
check your summary of benefits and coverage for the company’s appeal 
procedures. The company should be able to answer procedural questions 
about appeals over the phone. Your appeal should be in writing and may 
require information from your doctor or health care provider. 

If, after going through the company’s appeal process, you feel that your 
claim was unfairly denied, contact the Insurance Commissioner’s 
Office at consumer@delaware.gov or call 1-800-282-8611.
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Keeping Health Coverage
There is a way you may keep your health coverage for a period of 
time when you leave a job. The first step is to figure out if you qualify for 
“COBRA”. 

COBRA (which stands for the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act) is a federal law that allows you to extend your current 
group health insurance coverage when you leave a job, are fired from 
a job (for reasons other than fraud or misconduct), are reduced from 
fulltime to part-time status, or another “qualifying event” occurs. You 
can extend the coverage—at your cost—for 18 months, and sometimes 
longer. PPOs, HMOs, indemnity policies and self-insured plans are all 
subject to COBRA. Employers with 20 or more employees are usually 
required to offer COBRA coverage and to notify their employees of 
the availability of such coverage. COBRA applies to plans maintained 
by private-sector employers and sponsored by most state and local 
governments. 

If you leave a job and use COBRA to continue your health coverage, you 
will still have the same plan with the same benefits and provisions, but you 
will pay much more for it. That’s because your employer was paying part 
of your premium before and now you will be responsible for paying all of 
the premium. Ask your employer’s human resources staff if you are eligible 
for COBRA. Be mindful that this process is time-sensitive. 

Mini-COBRA: House Bill 170, the Mini-COBRA Law, was signed in to law 
by Governor Markell on May 22, 2012. The bill amends Title 18 of the 
Delaware Insurance Code relating to group health insurance. This bill 
requires insurers to offer to otherwise ineligible employee’s mini-COBRA 
coverage for small-employer plans. Under this new legislation, individuals 
who have lost their employment and health insurance may qualify for 
continuation of health insurance coverage for nine months (as long as 
the employer is still offering health insurance to their active employees). 
The Delaware mini-COBRA law applies to insured plans of employers 
that normally employed between 1 and 19 full-time employees on a 
typical business day during the preceding year. Continuation coverage is 
available for medical coverage only.
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Fraud; Self-Funded Plans
Protect your personal information from fraud: The federal government 
does not make unsolicited phone calls and generally does not conduct 
business via e-mail. Nor should you assume any text message or fax 
that says it’s from a government agency is credible. Never give out any 
information to unsolicited callers. This includes: medical (health history 
or Medicare account numbers), personal (Social Security number, 
birthdate), or financial (checking or credit card account numbers) 
information.

If anyone calls you and tells you that “you must act now” to keep your 
coverage simply hang up the phone. Don’t rely on caller ID. Some 
scammers are able to display a company’s name or phone number on 
the caller ID screen.

You can always call the Department of Insurance if you are not sure if an 
offer or a call to action is fraudulent or legitimate.

Plans not regulated by the Delaware Department of Insurance: While 
many health insurance plans are regulated by the Department of 
Insurance, some are not. For example, self-funded employee benefit 
plans are those that are funded by an employer rather than through a 
health insurance company and are regulated by the US Department of 
Labor, Employee Benefits, Security Administration (EBSA). To contact the 
Dept. of Labor EBSA call 1-866-444-3272 or visit www.dol.gov/ebsa.

How do I know if I have a self-funded plan? The easiest way to find out if 
you have a self-funded plan is to ask your HR department. You can also 
call the phone number listed on your health benefits card and ask the 
customer service department.
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Need Help?

ChooseHealthDE.com

Medicare, Medicare Part D, Medigap and Long-Term Care Insurance

Information and tips on Medicare, Medicare Part D, Medigap policies, 
longterm care insurance and other issues affecting seniors are also 
available on the website and from the Delaware Medicare Assistance 
Bureau (DMAB).

The latest version of the Medicare Supplement Insurance Shopper’s Guide 
is available online at insurance.delaware.gov/dmab. Or, to have one sent 
to you, please call DMAB directly at 1-800-336-9500.

The Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s Office does not run the state’s 
Health Insurance Marketplace, www.choosehealthde.com. The answers 
to questions related to the Health Insurance Marketplace, including the 
plans that are offered, subsidies, taxes and all others can be found on the 
Marketplace website at www.choosehealthde.com or by calling 1-800-
318-2596.

Consumers are encouraged to visit the website and read the frequently 
asked questions (FAQs) and, if applicable, fill out an application. With one 
application, you can learn if you qualify for lower costs based on your 
income, compare your coverage options side-by-side, and purchase a 
plan that best meets your needs. If you need help with this process there 
are Marketplace Guides available to assist you, free-of-charge.

The federal Health Insurance Marketplace website, www.healthcare.
gov, also contains an abundance of information about the Affordable 
Care Act. Please note that if you decide to obtain a health insurance 
plan through the Marketplace you will be re-routed from www.
choosehealthde.com to the federal website, www.healthcare.gov

To access Delaware’s Health Insurance Marketplace visit 
www.choosehealthde.com

To access the Federal Health Insurance Marketplace website visit 
www.healthcare.gov or call 1-800-318-2596.
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Notes
Use this space for notes or questions for your agent or Consumer 
Services staff:
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Insurance Commissioner’s Office

“Protecting Delawareans through regulation and 
education while providing oversight of the insurance 

industry to best serve the public.”

The Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s Office is here to 
help if you have questions about or problems with your 
insurance coverage or insurance company.

Questions about insurance or complaints about an 
insurance company or insurance agent can be made 
to the Consumer Services division by phone, by fax, by 
letter, by email or with an online complaint form:

Phone: 1-800-282-8611 (Toll-free in Delaware)
or 302-674-7300

Fax: 302-739-6278 

Email: consumer@delaware.gov

1351 W North St STE 101.
Dover, DE 19904

Visit the Delaware Department of Insurance website to 
find more information and tips about health insurance 
and the services we provide at insurance.delaware.gov


