Office of the Commissioner



Delaware Department of Insurance

REDOMESTICATION FROM DELAWARE AND RETAINING CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY AS A FOREIGN COMPANY

- 1. Letter addressed to Director of Company Regulation, notifying the Department of the company's intent to redomesticate and requesting the Department's no objection to the proposed redomestication.
- 2. Complete the <u>UCAA Application</u> to Redomesticate to the New State for them to review their application.
- 3. The Department will issue an Order approving the redomestication upon receipt of approval documents from the new state along with the below documents.

THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS ARE REQUIRED IF THE COMPANY IS REQUESTING TO RETAIN A CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY AS A FOREIGN COMPANY:

- Return Original Delaware Certificate of Authority issued as a foreign admitted insurer. If the
 original cannot be located, an Affidavit of Lost Certificate of Authority (<u>UCAA Form 15</u>) must be
 completed and notarized.
- 2. Certified copies of documents filed with the Division of Corporations; Certificate of Conversion From a Delaware Corporation to a Non-Delaware Entity filed with the Delaware Secretary of State's Office,
- 3. Copy of Amended By-Laws, if applicable, certified by the Secretary of the Company.
- 4. Certificate of Compliance from new state
- 5. Certificate of Deposit from new state.
- 6. Complete and return UCAA Forms 2C, 3C, and 12, OR Delaware forms 3P, D-1, D-2 for Accredited Reinsurer.
- 7. Check in amount of \$170 (\$150 fee for issuance of the new Certificate of Authority; \$10 for filing Amended Articles of Incorporation and \$10 for filing amended By-Laws or *Retaliatory fee if higher*.)
- 8. The company may request release of the statutory deposit in Delaware:

 Delaware law, 18 Del. C. §1512(b), requires advertising for four (4) weeks prior to the release of statutory deposits. After completion of the advertising, reimbursement of publishing fees, and the Department has not received any objection to the release, the bank holding the securities will be notified to close the account and wire all funds as instructed.
 - **EXCEPTION:** If the company is licensed to transact workers' compensation and surety business, they must maintain in this State special deposits for Delaware policyholders only (workers' compensation: \$100,000 and Surety: \$10,000).

If you have any questions, please contact us at <u>BERG@delaware.gov</u> or go to our website https://insurance.delaware.gov/divisions/berg/