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A guide to saving money on your 
company’s workers’ compensation 

insurance with the  
Workplace Safety Program

The Delaware Insurance 
Commissioner’s Office, 
in coordination with the 
Delaware Compensation 
Rating Bureau, offers Delaware 
employers an opportunity 
to lower their workers’ 
compensation insurance 
premiums by participating 
in the Delaware Workplace 
Safety Program.

Businesses may earn a 
discount by providing and 
maintaining a safe place to 
work.

Since the program’s inception 
in 1989, employers have saved 
millions of dollars in premiums, 
and more importantly, have 
enhanced the safety and 
health of their employees.

After audits, participating 
businesses have saved a 
confirmed $118,868,500 
between 2006 and 2021. 

How do I apply or find more 
info?

Go to the Department’s Workplace 
Safety website:

insurance.delaware.gov/services/
workplacesafetydiscount 

You can also call (302) 674-7377 or email 
safety@delaware.gov to request an 

application.
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Who can participate?
Employers who have been in business a
minimum of 3 years and are paying a
cumulative total of $5,000 or more in
workers compensation insurance
premium are eligible. The Delaware
Compensation Rating Bureau
determines eligibility and the
percentage of the discount.

When will the percentage 
discount become effective?
Insurance carriers apply earned discounts 
at the renewal date of the workers’ 
compensation policies of the current year.

Who performs the inspections?
Independent qualified safety inspectors, 
under contract to the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, conduct actual 
physical inspections of work sites.

Insurers issuing workers’ compensation 
insurance in Delaware may submit their own 
workplace safety inspection procedures for 
review by the Department of Insurance. The 
Department of Insurance shall permit the 
insurer’s inspection to satisfy the inspection 
requirements if the inspection procedures 
are at least as rigorous as those employed 
by the Department of Insurance and its 
independent safety experts. An insurer’s 
safety inspection qualifications must be 
re-certified on a biannual basis to maintain 
status as an acceptable substitute.

Frequently Asked Questions About The Delaware Workplace Safety Program

Is there a cost involved?
The cost of the inspection is borne 
by the employer and is based on the 
number of locations and work sites 
within the company. The size and 
complexity of operations are also a 
consideration. Inspection fees, subject 
to change, currently range from $400 to 
$3,100 for the first year of participation.

Is this a one-time discount or 
can I reapply each year?
Employers have the opportunity to re-apply 
for the discount annually. Applications must 
be received 5-7 months prior to the policy 
renewal date. Consecutive year inspections 
are unannounced.

What are the benefits?
Upon passing a safety inspection, 
employers can earn a discount on their 
workers’ compensation premiums.

Participants also receive materials and 
recommendations from the inspectors 
that are helpful in maintaining safe and 
healthy work sites.

Failure to qualify does not result in 
any penalties, premium increases or 
sanctions imposed by other safety 
enforcement authorities.

What injury and claims 
records am I required to 
have on-hand during an 
inspection? 
In compliance with Delaware law, all 
inspections must include a thorough 
review of the following items which are 
maintained by the employer and made 
available for the inspector to review:

• All workplace injuries that have
occurred within the three years prior
to the application.

• The outcome of those injuries, if
applicable, including specific details
of the injuries.

• Confirmation of Modification Duty
Availability Reports for all injuries, as
applicable.

• Any findings or fines relating to
workplace safety resulting from the
injuries.

• A list of possible assignments for
injured workers.

• Any safety measures taken by the
employer as a result of the injuries.

Note: A recommendation by the 
inspector based on the physical walk 
through observations and the above 
information as to whether or not the 
employer should receive the workplace 
safety credit will be included on the 
report.


