Due to the current state of emergency, we are unable to meet in person with the public. However, we will be able to provide you with the service you need by phone or by email.
Major Disaster Declaration Approved for Delaware
Hurricane Ida: Constituents may call 1-800-621-3362 or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Hours: 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. ET, 7 days a week
Website Info: DisasterAssistance.gov and FEMA.gov/disaster/hurricane-ida
Closings and Delays - State Government - See More Info
Senate Bill 178 with Senate Amendment 1 of the 147th General Assembly transfers the authority to regulate Delaware’s state-approved motor vehicle accident prevention (defensive driving) courses from the Department of Insurance to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), except for the regulatory authority over the insurance discount as required by the program, which will remain under the Department of Insurance. This statutory and regulatory change became effective March 11, 2015.
Although the defensive driving courses are now regulated by the DMV, the qualifications for discounts have not been changed. Just as before, if a driver of a vehicle completes an approved course, the driver is eligible to receive up to a 10 percent discount off a portion of his/her auto insurance for three years. If a driver takes a refresher course within 180 days of the end of the three-year period, he/she is eligible to receive up to a 15 percent discount off a portion of his/her auto insurance for three years.
Please follow the links provided to the Delaware DMV website for more information about defensive driving courses in Delaware. For more details regarding the insurance discount, please see Regulation 607; and if you are having problems receiving your defensive driving discount, please email us at email@example.com or call 800.282.8611 in Delaware or 302.674.7310.