Due to the current state of emergency, we are unable to meet in person with the public. However, we will be able to provide you with the service you need by phone or by email.
COVID-19 Insurance FAQ - See More Info
Closings and Delays - State Government - See More Info
The Fraud Prevention Bureau works to foster a cooperative approach in the detection, investigation and prosecution of insurance fraud. The Fraud Bureau is charged with investigating allegations of insurance fraud in all lines of insurance, as well as provider fraud (doctors, dentists, chiropractors, clinics, lawyers, etc.) and fraud perpetrated by the insurance companies, agents and brokers.
(Courtesy of Coalition Against Insurance Fraud)
Insurance fraud – such as lying on an application or providing false or misleading information when making a claim to an insurance company – is a serious offense and results in increased rates for all people with insurance in Delaware. Punishment can include fines of up to $10,000 and up to 2 years in jail. Fraud can happen in auto insurance, homeowners insurance, life insurance, health insurance and workers compensation insurance.
More about Auto Insurance Fraud.
Why Call to Report Fraud?
All Delaware insureds will benefit from the Department’s ability to detect and prosecute fraud. In time, we should see lower insurance premiums. Wouldn’t it be nice to have extra money in your pocket rather than the pocket of a person undeserving of it? With your help, we will increase the likelihood of these people getting caught and, thus, take the profit out of this crime.
If you know of or suspect possible insurance fraud, please report it. All calls and tips are investigated. All calls and tips are confidential unless you choose otherwise. To report suspected insurance fraud:
Call 1-800-632-5154 toll-free in Delaware or (302) 674-7350
Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org
Mail a report to Fraud Prevention, 1351 West North Street, Suite 101, Dover, DE 19904
You can reduce the chances of becoming a victim and help us stop fraud in its tracks by following some very simple rules:
When buying insurance or obtaining any services, remember, “if it seems too good to be true, it probably is.”
When dealing with someone you do not know, you can check their credentials with the Insurance Department before you give them any money. To make sure someone is a licensed insurance agent, call 1-800-282-8611 or you can check them online with the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), here.
If you have any questions about the policy or if the person selling you the policy or handling your claim appears reluctant to respond to your questions, contact our Department at 1-800-282-8611 or email@example.com before signing any documents.
If involved in an auto collision, protect yourself against potential fraudulent claims.
This form is for use by insurance companies only in reporting suspected fraud: